Them Habits

10 Feb

“Habit and routine have an unbelievable power to waste and destroy.”- Henri de Lubac

Recently I have noticed that my life is becoming more and more routine and driven by habit. I go to the same places for lunch. I order the same thing at said places. I go to the same spot for happy hour. I go to the same bar on Saturday night. I go to the same breakfast spot the day after bar night. I have the same conversations.  I wear the same outfits day in and day out. It’s Monday again and the cycle continues. I know I’m into my second year of adulthood and my college career that consisted of carefree, endless days and countless new faces are becoming more of a distant memory, but c’mon, time to live a little ehhhhh?

For the most part, I’m pretty content with my life BUT I’m starting to get pissed off at myself for my habitual ways. Therefore, I am going to make it a top three priority to push myself to try new things/places/foods/people and get out of my comfort zone. I shook things up a bit this past Saturday and thanks to organizer,task-master Whittles, we did a two hour city guide tour of my beloved historical hood Alamo Square. I already noticed today that I am no longer looking at the Victorians in the same way. Shit, I noticed that I am actually noticing the Victorian houses for a change. It feels damn good.

alamo-square-victorians-002

alamo-square-victorians-005

alamo-square-victorians-004alamo-square-victorians-007


One Response to “Them Habits”

  1. celie February 10, 2009 at 9:31 pm #

    what a fun idea! I don’t recall visiting alamo square in my sf days but it looks rad! you are one lucky lady 🙂

Leave a Reply

