Farewell, Old Friend.

21 Jul

diet-coke

I have grown up with you. I have loved you dearly. Our affair was passionate. At times I would try to leave you (a.k.a. refrain from ordering you at a restaurant or picking you up at the store on the way home) only to turn around and run back to you (tell waitress I changed my mind/ do a U-turn and head back to the store).

Due to my recent attempts at living a healthier lifestyle (chiropractor, acupuncturist, massages, the occasional work-out, breathing exercises, and attempting to cook), I have heard from all of the people above, along with my old trainer, whitney, tony robbins, and countless articles on the web…that you do my body no good. And considering that one of my main ailments is my stomach, I am sure you are not making that situation any better either.

If my stupid little brother (jk Christian) could give you up,  and he was drinking a liter a day, then surely I can too. Withdrawal starts NOW!

Notes:

There remain some concerns over aspartame, the low-calorie chemical used to give diet sodas their flavor. Aspartame is 180 times sweeter than sugar, and some animal research has linked consumption of high amounts of the sweetener to brain tumors and lymphoma in rodents. The FDA maintains that the sweetner is safe, but reported side effects include dizziness, headaches, diarrhea, memory loss, and mood changes.

2 Responses to “Farewell, Old Friend.”

  1. Vintage Barbie July 22, 2009 at 12:44 am #

    This is just a habit. Replace this habit with a healthy one. Drink water or green tea. And what’s this about “the occasional” work out? That’s right up there with occasionally brushing your teeth–it will lead to gradual but nonetheless premature aging. Make it a habit to work out, preferably at the gym. Take classes, if they offer them. It pushes you and you’ll meet a physically healthier class of people than average.

  2. Whitney August 3, 2009 at 8:29 pm #

    Keep me updated on how it goes!
    And I’m still down to work out with you. Sundays at my gym, any other days at yours! Let me know 🙂

Leave a Reply

