The Cove

13 Aug

Louie Psihoyos’s documentary “The Cove” was one of the hardest films I’ve had to watch. The other one being the Lee Daniels movie “Precious” which was also at Sundance this past year. “The Cove” tells the untold story of the brutal massacre of thousands of dolphins a year in a remote village in Japan, and the Japanese government’s intense actions to keep it secret from the Japanese public and the rest of the world. I walked away from the film with a pit in my stomach and a heaviness in my heart. One guy actually ran out of the movie during the killing scene and threw up. I have a new-found respect for dolphins (I had no idea how smart they were) and admiration for anyone willing to stand up for a cause and make things right. While I know watching this film might not do much, it sparked a desire in me to pursue a cause and make a change.

“You’re either an activist or an inactivist”

One Response to “The Cove”

  1. Vintage Barbie August 13, 2009 at 4:40 pm #

    I watch them play along the shoreline in the mornings. They radiate joy. I don’t think I could watch this film. And I sure as hell hope we’re not eating them under another name. Good for you that you are ready to take action.

Leave a Reply

