Composition Books

21 Oct

Thanks to a stuffy nose, sore throat, and itchy ears….I stayed home tonight while my friends saw a movie. Instead of  turning on the TV or going on the internet like I normally would, I did something I haven’t done in a while. I just sat alone in my room with the music on. I looked through some old notebooks of mine which had a bunch of quotes and images/scraps I had torn out from various places. I haven’t contributed anything new to these books in a year I’m guessing. That will change. Here are some things I had written down that I want to post here. I will post more of these notebook notes later on.

“and she walked out, it was gettingdark but I let her go, you’ve got to know when to let a woman go if you want to keep her, and if you don’t want to keep her you let her go anyhow, so it’s always a process of letting go, one way or another…” (Bukowski, 22,000 Dollars in 3 Months)

“I don’t mind being tired in the day. I don’t mind my days being dreams because my nights…that’s when I live”-Mum

“Whatever life takes away from you, let it go” -4 Agreements

“Those who enjoy life are wiser than those who employ life” -Lao Tzu

“I want the quiet moments of the party girl” -The Owls

“My heart is unable to be so unstable anymore”- Stephen Malkmus

“Refuse to live an unexamined life. Examining it early gives you time to make plans. Putting it off til later means your only option may be counting regrets or even worse, buying into the existential lie that it’s all meaningless.” -My Mom

“I ask people what it is they want, and you would be amazed at how few of them know…If you focuse on what you want, things clear up.”- Oprah

“Often we think we’re responding to actual people and events, we’re merely assigning them parts in the inner novel we’ve been writing all our lives”- ?

“Love is my decision to make your problem my concern”- Robert Schuller

“Don’t make someone a priority, when for them you’re just an option”- Anonymous

“A man is a success if he gets up in the morning and goes to bed at night and in between does what he wants to do.” -Bob Dylan

“Alcohol is the anesthesia by which we endure the operation of life”- ?

“I don’t mind walking with other people, but I get my best thinking done alone. The nicest times are coming back from a party or a club at midnight with a head full of ideas, working them out on the way home and sitting down at the desk to write through the early hours”- Matt Thorne

composition_lg

4 Responses to “Composition Books”

  1. celie October 21, 2009 at 4:06 pm #

    I ❤ this.

  2. alisonishappy October 21, 2009 at 4:22 pm #

    youve always been a great journal keeper, on & off the interweb. :]

  3. Vintage Barbie October 21, 2009 at 6:16 pm #

    HI Dolly

    Your post has inspired me to send you a little pressie. Be on the lookout for an amazon package. Pay attention to chapter 6, Scratching.

    I’m flattered that you quoted me. Upon rereading my words of wisdom,which I never expected to be noted, I would have written them to read more clearly:
    “Refuse to live an unexamined life. Examining it early allows you to be a creative participant in your destiny. Putting it off too long limits you to final options of counting regrets or even worse, buying into the existential lie that it is all meaningless.”

    –The Dollysmama

  4. Vintage Barbie October 22, 2009 at 1:15 am #

    Hi Dolly
    One more time. After reading this I was inspired to send you a surprise. Pay special attention to Chapter 6, Scratching.

    I also said I was flattered by being included in your lists of quotes and had I known at the time that my words would be quoted I would have written them with more care, so I rewrote the quote. Here it is rewritten again: “Lead an examined life. If you start early you have a chance to participate in designing your destiny. Delaying for too long limits you to the final options of counting regrets or, even worse, buying into the existential lie that it’s all meaningless.”

Leave a Reply

