Suprizes

22 Oct

When I was a kid, my mom would always come home from work and bring what we called “suprizes.” Whether it was a lollipop or a stuffed animal or a bouncy ball, we didn’t care. We loved it. My mom mentioned that the older we got, the harder and more expensive these surprises were…so it stopped for a while. But today, I nearly had a heart attack (headphones were on) so the mail guy at work started me. He handed me an Amazon box and inside I found the following book. I can’t wait to read it esp. the chapter about “Scratching.”

“Even though I look desperate, I don’t feel desperate, because I have a habitual routine to keep me going. I call it scratching. You know how you scratch away a lottery ticket to see if you’ve won? That’s what I’m doing when I begin a piece. I’m digging through everything to find something. It’s like clawing at the side of a mountain to get a toehold, a grip, some sort of traction to keep me moving upward and onward.

Scratching takes many shapes. A fashion designer is scratching when he visits vintage clothing stores, studies music videos, and parks himself at a sidewalk cafe to see what the pedestrians are wearing.

A film director is scratching when she grabs a flight to Rome, trusting that she will get her next big idea in that inspiring city.  The act of changing your environment is the scratch.”

twyla_tharp_book-225105026_std

2 Responses to “Suprizes”

  1. Vintage Barbie October 22, 2009 at 8:48 pm #

    Hi Dolly
    Thanks for letting me know you got it and get it!

  2. celie October 24, 2009 at 3:04 am #

    I may have to go out and purchase this, sounds intriguing.

Leave a Reply

