Away We Go

28 Nov

I put off seeing this movie after hearing it was complete shit. I heard this from my friend Christa who walked out of the movie. No offense babycakes, but you and Henderson are leading me down the wrong path with your reviews. However, I was at the hair salon the other day (btw, if you know anyone on Yaz or Yasmin tell them to stop taking it now. it is about to be recalled because women are dying due to it—another thing I learned at the hair salon) and I heard this movie was great. So I hit purchase on my parent’s tv and I have to say that I liked it. I was never bored. I thought John Krasinski and Maya Rudolph were surprisingly great. Their characters were refreshing and likeable. There were a couple scenes that pulled at the heart strings. There were a couple scenes that made me want to puke because the couple was so cute with each other. Krasinski, you do not exist in real life! These days I’m beginning to think that kind of romance has a 1-7% chance of happening (cue depressing music here). It surprised me that American Beauty director Sam Mendes directed this and then when I saw that Dave Eggers and his wife wrote the script, it made total sense. Sure this film has its cliche indie (Garden State…Juno…) try-hard moments but overall I liked it and I would recommend it!

Check out the Rotten Tomatoes Review below. Best quote:

“Maggie Gyllenhall and Josh hamilton play possibly the most annoying breed of person on earth, which is rich hippies”


 

One Response to “Away We Go”

  1. alisonishappy November 29, 2009 at 12:59 am #

    ugh i agree with christa! the cheetah is right, this movie was WAYYYY too cheesy. if i wanted to watch make believe i would have rented enchanted.

Leave a Reply

