And the Rezzies are….

8 Jan

Normally I have a list of about 10+ resolutions. I’m a sucker for the self-help, improve yourself, live your life to the fullest, anything is possible, Tony Robbins, Oprah way. However I have noticed a trend when it comes to me and resolutions. I have had almost the same resolutions for the past few years and lets just say, they all went unresolved. Being that I’m turning 25 in 3 months, I’m going to try to be a little more serious this year with these endeavors. I have to map out a step-by-step plan of action. I have to not be overly ambitious. And finally I have to stop talking and telling everyone (rattytimes aside) and just do it. So here are my 2010 resolutions:

1- Becoming better with the $$$ & Consuming: I don’t know why I think I’m Donald Trump or that I make $20k more than I actually do but I have to stop with the over-spending. My financial consultant Ms. Gallagher is helping me in this effort since she is a master at budgeting. Looks like I will be cutting my work lunches by 75-80%. Yikes! I guess I’m going to have to find something else to be the higlight of my work day.

2-Excercise more: It’s pretty pathetic how little I use my very nice gym membership esp. since I get billed for it every month. I already went this Tuesday and felt great afterwards. I’m going to be realistic here and aim to start going at least twice a week. I’m hoping that this will help raise my energy level, relieve stress and it wouldn’t hurt to lose 5-10 LBs baby!

3-Cook/Eat better: I’m a fan of cheap and I’m a fan of fast. I never understood why people would pay so much money on groceries (organic, cage-free, farmers markets, etc.) but I’m starting to come around. As a wise woman once told me (hi vintage barbie!), “your body is your biggest investment. unlike a car, you are going to have it your whole life.” I am going to try to be more conscious of what and who I support when purchasing foods, even if it means paying a buck or two more. I’m also going to try to cook at least one home-cooked meal a week. With great foodie friends like Rita, Emily, and Hilary…there is no excuse. Once a week baby!

4-Volunteer: I would really like to volunteer somewhere and I’m thinking of volunteering/working with older people.

5- Procrastinate less: If I just tackle things on the spot or in the alloted time, I will have less to stress about and I can focus on the present. Case in point: writing CL, album review, and transcribing a band interview this weekend. No excuses. Gotta get it done. And follow up on the $78 mystery medical bill I received. Sheesus!

6-Live in the moment: I stole this one from my mom but I think it’s good. Less worrying about and living in the future or past, and more enjoying and taking advantage of the moment.

Okay so I have 6 here and I secretly have a couple more but I’m trying to limit myself. I will keep you posted. If you don’t hear me speak of the above in future posts, chances are jack jack fell off the track track. Feel free to leave negative comments telling me I’m a loser.

3 Responses to “And the Rezzies are….”

  1. Vintage Barbie January 8, 2010 at 8:39 pm #

    As Ralph Waldo Emerson said You’ve got a much better chance of hitting the target if you take aim. A resolution is a way of taking aim. Your daily actions pull the bowstring on the arrow aimed atthe target Go forth, Diana, the huntress!

  2. wjfry January 11, 2010 at 4:41 pm #

    These are great! The thing about lunchtime at work, you can still leave at lunchtime and take a walk around. You can eat your lunch outside…there’s so many great spots. Plus that could be an added bonus of exercise, if you walked around everyday for a half an hour during lunchtime…that will definitely help you on your exercise goal. Don’t give up! I know you’ll succeed at all of them 🙂 Oh and Disneyland has on it’s site the section for it you volunteer a day you get a free day at Disneyland. You might not want the free day but it has a big list of places you can volunteer by putting in your zip code, and helping seniors is one of the categories. Good luck!

  3. Celie January 13, 2010 at 3:25 am #

    I like all of these a lot, and your mom’s advice about health is really great. jesus, I can’t believe I’m turning 25 in 3 months, too. gahhh!

Leave a Reply

