Shopping Intervention

19 Feb

Today I had lunch with Chris, Jenny O., Katherine H. and our staple male dude/bro Josh L.  We discussed topics like  Tiger Woods and his many hos, life coaches, cancer , non-profits and then we got to discussing shopping and clothes. “Guys, I think I might be a shopaholic,” Katherine said. This made us ponder the all-important question: How do you know when you have a shopping problem and/or meet the criteria for being called a “shopaholic”? (I am channeling my inner Carrie Bradshaw here.

Chris told us about this new designer discount site in the UK and our eyes lit up at the sound of it. I compared us finding out about this new site to what it must be like for a drug addict to get a new hook-up or the fast line to the quickest dealer in town.

I love to shop. I think most women do.  Some girls (hi Chris and Whitney….devoted Anthropolgie customers) are all about quality over quantity. They are strategic. They are focused. They would rather save up for a really fine piece and then buy it. Other gals are more regular shoppers (J,K, and I). We like good deals. We like SALE. We like the hunt. We like quantity over quality. We shop on a more regular basis and sometimes we kid ourselves into thinking that we are  going just to window-shop. Some of my friends have to hide their clothes from their significant others in order to avoid a confrontation (parents/ guy just don’t understand!). We collectively came to the conclusion that it’s an “addiction” (shopping in this case) if it interferes with/begins to make your life difficult. If you are buying stuff and hoarding it away. If you are incurring debt. If you would rather shop than hang out with friends and family. If you can’t go anywhere without purchasing something. Well then…you are most likely an addict.

That being said, I am making a more conscious effort to make the most of the tons of clothes I own. I am going to try to channel my inner Chris and be a little more strategic in my shopping endeavors. While the window-shopping might become more frequent than the actual shopping, I can’t give up the game. As they say, “Don’t hate the player, hate the game.” (or something like that)

Note: I think that the countless magazine and fashion blogs I look at on a daily basis are not helping the cause.

One Response to “Shopping Intervention”

  1. Danielle February 24, 2010 at 12:59 am #

    OMG! Absolutely love this post of yours! So spot on and hilarious!

Leave a Reply

