Ask the Dust

11 Mar

I’m reading John Fante’s “Ask the Dust” for our book club and it’s good. It’s so good that I’m reading it on the bus (I rarely read on the bus) and I’m reading it in lieu of watching tv/movies or reading magazines/blogs (my favorites). Hell, I think  everyone should read it! Being a Bukowski fan, I should’ve known that this was going to be an engaging read after hearing that he did the intro. I love the honesty of Arturo Bandini’s character. I find myself relating to him at various times throughout the book. In closing, I’m a fan of this book. Read it if you get a chance.

“Through other circumstances, I finally met the author this year. There is much more to the story of John Fante. It is a story of terrible luck and terrible fate and of a rare and natural courage.  Some day it will be told but I feel that he doesn’t want me to tell it here. But let me say that the way of his words and the way of his way are the same: strong and good and warm.

That’s enough. Now this book is yours.”

-Charles Bukowski (5-6-79)

the book

the author

One Response to “Ask the Dust”

  1. Vintage Barbie March 14, 2010 at 1:10 am #

    Just came home from the library where I picked up this book. Can’t wait to compare notes.

Leave a Reply

