Zen and Zzzzzs

3 May

I suffered a bout of insomnia last night. There’s a lot going on on the western front. I’m getting a new roommate, moving rooms, new projects, quarterlife crisis, existential crisis, trips home, work. I am trying to carry around a notebook more often. Today in my hazy stupor, I brought my little notebook that I carried around during my Senior year of college and my first year out of college. I was a pretty zen MF back in the day. Here are some gems amidst the random To-Do Lists and apartment addresses…

“Buddha does not pretend things are any different than they are. Hang with dumb people and you get dumber. Hang with sleazy people and you get sleazier. Make your choices and accept responsibility for them. But remember if you choose those unworthy of you, you will never experience real fellowship, never have a partner.”

“Ambitious people can’t enjoy what they have, driven by their need to attain more. Lazy people like what they’ve got, but they sure would like more in case the things they have run out.”

“Life with love beat life with lack.”

So I guess even though I claim to “strongly dislike” hippies, deep down I might be a little bit of a hippie myself. Time to channel my 22 year-old zen self and let the good vibes and positive energy seep right through me like a river flowing through a wild rainforest with butterflies and doe frolicking around and world peace…..who am I kidding? Be as good of a person as you can and don’t sweat the small stuff.

2 Responses to “Zen and Zzzzzs”

  1. celie May 4, 2010 at 1:11 am #

    ha! I love this post. I feel ya girl 🙂

  2. pic May 5, 2010 at 8:40 pm #

    i’m loving this post, darling! keep up the positive thinking…sending you lots of love, baybay

Leave a Reply

