Sketches of Frank Gehry

13 May

I watched Sydney Pollack’s (rip) documentary “Sketches of Frank Gehry” on the innovative architect Frank Gehry. His rebellious designs sure piss off the old-school architecture community.  When I was in Venice Beach over winter break, I spotted this crazy looking bird house on the Venice Beach strand. Twenty minutes into watching this film, the house reminded me of the stuff I was seeing in the documentary. Sure enough, the bird house in Venice Beach turned out to be one of his creations. At 81, he’s still going strong. While I don’t know if I would want to live in a Frank Gehry house, I do know that I would want to see and be inside all of them. I tried finding direct quotes online but failed. He did have some funny and honest words on being a very jealous and competitive person. I also liked the bits with his therapist who he has seen for over 20 years. Do not let his humble demeanor fool you, this fella is a spitfire.

Venice Beach

Frank’s house in Los Angeles

Bilbao

Leave a Reply

