Snooze Button Blues

27 Jul

My relationship with the snooze button on my Blackberry is becoming a bit self-destructive. It’s a love/hate relationship. I love the snooze button because there’s nothing better than realizing you have 20 more minutes to stay in your warm bed and sleep. I hate the snooze button because it’s so easy to abuse it and set it 5-8 additional times which has me snoozing in and out of consciousness for upwards of 1.5 hours at times. Should I just start setting my snooze button to 6am so that I will wake up at 8am since I have taken away all the authority and purpose of the alarm clock?

I have never been a morning person. My mom used to throw cups of water on me during my high school days in order to wake me up and she would play Andrea Bocelli at a very high volume (no wonder I was such a punk during my adolescence). Vintage Barbie, you can’t deny that. If I wake up and give myself the proper amount of time, it should make me a more relaxed, self-disciplined, and balanced human being and a wonderful citizen overall! I would be able to eat breakfast, perhaps pack a lunch…..maybe watch the news….meditate or do yoga or something. I gotta figure this problem out quick because the snooze button and I are on the fast track to nowhere.

5 Responses to “Snooze Button Blues”

  1. James July 27, 2010 at 3:42 pm #

    Go to bed earlier.

  2. Vintage Barbie July 27, 2010 at 4:57 pm #

    Did you know that there is a snooze button alternate universe? When the snooze button rings and you hit it you change the interpretation of that signal changes from I have 20 minutes more to stay in my nice warm bed to “I have twenty minutes to have breakfast and pack a healthy lunch” You get out of bed and hit the snooze button again. When it rings again “I’ve eaten breakfast, my lunch is packed, I have another twenty minutes to do yoga and meditate The third time it goes off, “I’ll use the last 20 minutes to pack my gym gear and find something to read while I ride the bus to work.” Then you wake up on the bus sitting between Leonardo Di Caprio and the guy from 500 days of summer.

  3. galsinlondon July 27, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

    you could always bring back clocky…

  4. ruby daggett July 27, 2010 at 8:23 pm #

    yes! 20 mins of yoga/meditation in the morning…give yourself the gift of that time to set your mood for the day. if it proves difficult to get up, then yes….go to bed earlier! but then you knew I would say that, right?

  5. little twerp! August 24, 2010 at 8:32 pm #

    im super guilty of this too. i just always shower at night and my morning beauty routine is pretty basic, so i give myself just enough time to throw an outfit on, pack a lunch, brush my teeth and do a little blusher. anyway, my point is, showering at night solves so much!

Leave a Reply

