Daddyo

4 Aug

When I went back home this summer, my dad showed me his head shots from back in the day. I had to scan them. It’s a surreal experience to see pictures of your parents when they were around your age. I forget they were once 25 or 30. The story goes that my mom and my grandma were watching TV back in Jersey together and a commercial came on for a shaving ad. My grandma Helen supposedly pointed at the screen and said “ya see there barb, that’s the kind of guy you should marry.” Apparently she was going for the art school/drama club dudes back then and my G-ma was trying to sway her. Urban/Vintage Barbie legend has it that the guy in the shaving commercial ended up being my dad ❤ How the hell am I supposed to top that?

I think my favorite one is a tie between the ski poles and the horse.

3 Responses to “Daddyo”

  1. Vintage Barbie August 4, 2010 at 4:13 am #

    Yeah, sometimes truth is stranger than fiction. My mom hated and feared counter culture types and definitely loved the all American type and in the 60’s your dad was a professional all American type. He wasn’t on one commercial, he was on several and your grandma was a big fan. She pointed him out to me more than once. That’s why he seemed like a friendly familiar face when I met him in Manhattan Beach in the late 60’s. So it all worked out. You got the Carribbean sea blue eyes and your brother is 6’4″ and we all lived happily ever after.

  2. cheetvschina August 4, 2010 at 10:53 am #

    Wow how handsome! That is the cutest story of how your mom first saw your dad. awwwww!

  3. h August 5, 2010 at 4:36 am #

    wow. you are an exact replica of poppa miehls. crazy…

Leave a Reply

