The Allure of Hello Kitty

23 Nov

Each person probably thinks he or she has good taste. I think my taste is pretty good overall BUT then there’s my serious affection for all things Hello Kitty. I don’t own A LOT of Hello Kitty but I love all things concerning this cat from Japan. I can’t help but stop in the Sanrio store in the Westfield Center everytime I pass it. I love the way Hello Kitty stores smell. I love how cute everything is. The candy…the sparkles…the red and white simplicity of the original Hello Kitty. The only thing that really stops me from buying merchandise when I’m in the store is the fact that a pen there will set you back $5.

I read Rob Walker’s book “Buying In: The Secret Dialogue Between What We Buy And Who We Are,” and he explores the world’s fascination with Hello Kitty and why it has become one of the most successful brands of all time. You can read his take on what made Hello Kitty successful here. Excerpt:

I’m not sure when my love for Hello Kitty will fade. I am still kicking myself in the ass for not buying this Hello Kitty water bottle at Whole Food two years ago. I have searched the internet to no avail. In short, Hello Kitty brightens my day and I am still not sure why. Maybe I’m just sentimental.

3 Responses to “The Allure of Hello Kitty”

  1. Vintage Barbie November 24, 2010 at 4:32 am #

    I grew up with the original Mousekateers and Howdy Doody. I also went to the Beatles first US concert in NYC (orchestra seats $10.00)Fortunately for me I was evolving faster than the marketing machine and moved on to whatever came next. I forget what that was because in those days it was easy to stay several miles ahead of nostalgia marketing (which was embryonic at the time.) The best is yet to come. Kiss those calculating retro marketers goodbye and discover and give your money and support to what’s great and what’s next.

  2. mac dre November 29, 2010 at 2:35 am #

    miz jackie. never let your love for HK die. it is a forever shinning light that will hang around you. HK is the bomb.com. i am absolutely obsessed, fucking obsessed with HK. ask castro. my obsession i too crazy. but be proud and wear her bow with pride. oh girl, how have we NOT discussed this yet?!?!? ugh. we need to! HK is hella good!

  3. celie December 1, 2010 at 2:36 am #

    awesome post, Jackie. I completely share your love for Sanrio, I don’t know what it is! I’m not really into anything else similarly “cutesy”. I have a little book of all of their characters throughout the years, I miss the shop in Westlake. ummm… and i WANT those tattoos.

Leave a Reply

