Them Giants

18 Dec

Living in San Francisco when the Giants won the World Series and watching the World Series parade in person was one of the best experiences I’ve had. The parade in particular was one of the more surreal experiences of my life. It felt like a scene from a movie. Now I know I haven’t been a baseball fan until this recent year which to some people may seem convenient. I have been called a bandwagon fan and a poser. I like to think of myself as a “new fan” fan. Thanks to Allie Berbena for getting me into the game and dragging my ass to Nickies in the beginning. Our lil posse spent many a night and dollars at good ol’ Nickies on Lower Haight. I was definitely broker and fatter after the series. It was worth it.

The Parade made me love the Giants even more. Every person involved with the Giants whether it was the people who work the box office and concession stands to the owners and past players, participated in the parade. Personal favorites were Willie Mayes, Cody Ross, Bruce Bocci, and some woman standing in front of us who every person walking in the parade seemed to know. They would come to the sidelines and give her a big hug. I think she must have worked at the stadium for a long time and due to health had to watch by the sidelines. My camera died right before the parade started but luckily I was able to get some pictures before I made the soul-crushing discovery that my battery was dead.

It’s been almost 8 years and I feel so incredibly lucky to be a San Franciscan and to have witnessed such a great moment in the city’s history. Go Giants!

I took this picture while walking to the bus after the parade. His mom: “he’s loving it. take as many pictures as you want.” I ended up getting this on SF Gate’s website. One of my favorite pictures of all time.

Sweat’n it out at work with Lisa T and Liz B. Lisa T and I would then creep at the Starbucks in the Marriott next door where many of the Giants were staying during the World Series. I ended up getting a picture with Pablo Sandoval and would post it here but I look pretty beat in it.

Bo Berbena as “Brian Wilson.” Our lucky charm and paparazzi magnet.

Right after they won the whole shabang!

Celebrating in the streets.

Leave a Reply

