The New Year

7 Jan

I am notorious for making MANY new years resolutions. I’m also notorious for telling everyone about these new years resolutions and all the great things I am going to achieve in the upcoming year. Lets just say I have VERY nice friends who make no mention of said resolutions when March and April roll around. While my intentions to cook, lose 5 lbs, read a book a month, journal more, etc. etc. were all very sincere and genuine, well….they just weren’t accomplished. Breaking bad habits and creating good ones is a motherfucker (sorry mom). Here is some habit-breaking information I found:

  • It takes 21 days to break a bad habit
  • I read here that there are 5 steps: Awareness, Wanting Change, Commitment, Consistent Action, Persaverence
  • “Most of life is habitual. You do the same things you did yesterday, the day before and every day for the last month. It’s estimated that out of every 11,000 signals we receive from our senses, our brain only consciously processes 40.Habits, good or bad, make you who you are. The key is controlling them. If you know how to change your habits, then even a small effort can create big changes.” – Source ( good article)

I decided this year that I am going to make one resolution and really try to make it happen. And my resolution for 2011 is…….

TO EAT, DRINK & LIVE HEALTHIER.

In short, this means cooking more, bringing lunch to work, eating out WAY less, drinking less, getting an exercise routine going, and saying goodbye to my dear friend Diet Coke once and for all (for real this time). I feel a shift has been made in this ratty mind and I am determined to make it happen.

“A man too busy to take care of his health is like a mechanic too busy to take

care of his tools.”

I hope everyone had a GREAT new years. Mine was one of the best I’ve had. Way better than trying to cab around the city searching for the next bar or party. My OGs from back home came out to San Francisco to ring in the new year with me. We spent the evening at our friends’ house where they hosted a potluck that would make Martha Stewart proud. Good food, good friends, good times.

One of my best friends Christine Gallagher who I hadn’t seen since March since she has been living/working abroad in London. She made a stop in SF before heading back to London. 2011 would be mighty fine if she moves back to SF come May ❤

Alix & Chris ❤

Chris, Alix, and Lisi

Allie, Erin & Porch Pioneer James I.

Midnight Toast

Just Being Gals

Hilary & The Fried Oreos

Bo Post-NYE

One Response to “The New Year”

  1. galsinlondon January 7, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    love love love all the pictures – and don’t you worry i won’t forget about your DC resolution!

Leave a Reply

