Dear Zachary

20 Jan

I had no idea what I was in for when I watched this documentary. I’m not even sure why I added it to my queue but I am so glad that it showed up in my mailbox. Although my heart is sunk and I am in tears after watching it, this film is so powerful and moving and beautifully made, that it’s worth going to sleep sad. A little bit about the movie:

Dear Zachary: A Letter to a Son About His Father is  a 2008 American documentary conceived and created by Kurt Kuenne. Kuenne’s close friend Andrew Bagby was murdered by Shirley Jane Turner after Bagby ended their tumultuous relationship. Shortly after she was arrested, she announced she was pregnant with Bagby’s child, a boy she named Zachary. Kuenne decided to interview numerous relatives, friends, and associates of Andrew Bagby and incorporate their loving remembrances into a film that would serve as a cinematic scrapbook for the son who never knew him.

For those with Netflix or a video store card, please take the time to watch this film. I found great inspiration in the film’s heroes, Andrew’s parents Kate and David.

Kate and David Bagby

Filmmaker with Andrew Bagby’s son Zachary

One Response to “Dear Zachary”

  1. Alison January 20, 2011 at 7:38 am #

    Oh man, when I watched this last winter, I was depressed for like a week afterward. It seriously gave me anxiety, I couldn’t sleep. I was heart broken. Aaaaand it made me want to work with kids even more. So I guess that’s good!

Leave a Reply

