Children Are Cool

21 Jan

But babysitting four of them is well….it’s hard to be cool babysitting 4 kids under the age of 6. Last Friday I babysat 4 children. They were aged 7 months, 2, 4 and 6. I have babysat since the age of 11 and let me tell ya, this was the marathon of all babysitting experiences. Those who know me know that I am a paranoid worrier at times. This meant that I was scared that the infant was going to a) hit her head on a table b) get hurt by one of her toddler siblings who were playing with her like a rag doll c) choke d) randomly die. I then had a 2 year old who would smile blankly at me when I threatened him with “I’m going to tell your parents that you were very bad tonight if you don’t go to bed” in reference to him tearing apart the house, crying, and refusing to go to bed. I ate my leftover Thai lunch for dinner while sitting in front of his bedroom door keeping watch to make sure he wouldn’t try to sneak out of his room. The 4 year old was a sweetheart of an angel and sang lullabies to the baby after I returned her to her crib for the 4th time in an attempt to get her to bed. Lesson: if a baby cries in her crib after you put her to bed, DO NOT keep taking her out of the crib, playing with her for a couple minutes thinking that will make her tired, and then return her to the crib repeatedly. You are enforcing bad behavior and the child will get pissed and cry (hardcore) for 45 minutes straight. The most humbling moment of the night came when I was beat in checkers by the 4 year old and 6 year old. The first time I wasn’t paying attention and forgot the rules. The second time I was legitimately trying and lost. Again, VERY humbling experience.

$100 for 2.5 hours of real babysitting/verge of nervous breakdown and another 2 hours of resting on their couch and watching TV.

Round 2 this Saturday. Wish me luck!

2 Responses to “Children Are Cool”

  1. Alison January 21, 2011 at 7:52 am #

    since when was 4 hours for 4 kids $100. Inflation! I used to get paid 10 bucks an hour for two kids, and when I asked for it to be 10 bucks an hour per kid for infants, I got laughed at.

  2. Vintage Barbie January 22, 2011 at 12:09 am #

    I baby sat when I was young back in the day when housewives in New Jersey had a minimum of 3.5 children and they’d pay slightly older children (12 year old me) fifty cents an hour to spell them. This is why I didn’t have you until my biological clock was about to strike midnight.

Leave a Reply

