Damn That’s Good!

10 Feb

In addition to being barraged with beauty recommendations in the countless magazines I subscribe to and blogs I follow, I also have these two ladies getting me more into it: my co-worker and make-up expert Liz and the mesmerizing British make-up artist Lisa Eldridge (I can seriously watch her youtube videos for hours on end….there’s something very entertaining and charming about her).  I picked up a couple products last week that I REALLY want to share with all the gals out there. Spreading the beauty product gospel if you will. I’m also gonna add a few other beauty products that I think are terrif! (trying to channel my gal crush Lisa Eldridge)

Dior Show Maximizer Lash Pumping Serum

This will seriously do wonders for anyone’s lashes. I was in shock and SOLD when the make-up girl showed me my lashes in the mirror. Now I know $28 is steep for a mascara primer but for a miracle in a bottle, I consider it a steal! It’s even better than the Lancome one. Que incredible!

Clinique Airbrush Concealer

This concealer is the best under-eye concealer I have ever used. Lisa Eldridge was not lying. It’s moisturizing and fades even the darkest circles and blemishes (or “spots” as the Brits say). You can also use it as a highlighter which I thought was pretty cool. I never realized how great Clinique products were until recently. I got a great mineral-based powder from them as well.  Everytime you use it, you get fresh-shaved mineral powder thanks to the innovative design of the compact.

Kerastase Nutritive Serum

Now I know this shit is expensive BUT it is amazing and will forever remind me of Christa Kohler since she used it all the time. It makes your hair super soft and smell great. I think it might even be better than Moroccan Oil. I lucked out because the spa across from my work was going out of business so I got a good deal on it. It lasts for a long time so it’s worth the investment. Y’all know how us gals are about our hair!

Alba Lip Balm

This lip balm is the bomb.com. I love it. It tastes like passion fruit and does not leave a waxy feel on your lips. I bought it randomly at the frou frou grocery store by my house and it was one of the best random purchases of my product-buying life.

Benetint

This cheek and lip tint (I use it mostly for lips) is my fave lip product. It’s natural and rosey and I don’t have to worry about it smearing or fading (yeah I’m talking to you Cover Girl lip stain!). I recently found out that it was originally created for a transvestite stripper who wanted to make his/her nipples appear more rosey. True story.

You Rebel Lite Tinted Moisturizer

I love this tinted moisturizer. I swear that Benefit’s products smell like fairytales.  I love the way this smells, feels and looks. I hate paying the $30 for it but it’s the best.

Essence of Beauty Jasmine Ginger Shower Gel

I randomly found this shower gel at Walgreens once. I fell in love and just like that….it was gone. I have yet to see at Walgreens or CVS since but I aint giving up baby! While doing this blog post, I just found it on eBay. Holla! It smells like heaven as does…

L’Occitane Fresh Face Water

As you might remember, mine was confiscated at SFO airport. I still miss and yearn for it. It truly was the best face mist thingy I have ever used. Cured hangovers, Monday morning blues, bored nights in….pretty much everything.

Urban Decay Naked Palette

I used this eye shadow palette almost every day. I love the versatility and shimmery pigmentation. People were going crazy over this palette so they have decided to make it a regular product of theirs. Halleluja!

p.s. I promise this will be my last consumer-happy post for a bit. I will be posting a Make-Up Corner makeover post (before and after images included) later tonight!

One Response to “Damn That’s Good!”

  1. Vintage Barbie February 16, 2011 at 5:07 am #

    Bought the Dior Show and the Clinique Airbrush. They’re good but I don’t know about great. Still got to give it to Lancome.

Leave a Reply

