Make-up Corner Makeover

16 Feb

Every morning most of us gals take some time to do our face, except for those lucky beezies who only need to apply some lip gloss and mascara (or nothing at all). A little corner in my room has become the make-up corner due to the mirror that lives on the wall by that corner and the fact that my bathroom has no drawers. I was starting to get a little anxious and depressed at how messy this corner was becoming. Thanks to the New Year and all of the blogs and magazines emphasizing resolutions and de-cluttering, I decided to do something about it. A favorite quote of mine from the latest O Magazine comes from design guru Peri Wolfman: “Staying organized is like gardening, you’re constantly weeding; it’s part of your routine…..We have a saying in our house-‘Where does this live?’- and we make sure whenever a thing is used, it’s returned to its spot.” Ok so that last part sounds a little bit anal to me but I do love the idea of de-cluttering and streamlining. Only keep things that bring you joy and have meaning. Get rid of the stuff that is most likely piling up on the floor or collecting dust under your bed and in your closet.

Before Shot:

After Shot:

Since this photo was taken, it’s gotten messier but I’m committed to organizing the clutter and a trip to the container store is in order. I’m also doing a closet makeover so stay tuned!

2 Responses to “Make-up Corner Makeover”

  1. alison February 16, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

    yay real photos! looks great! I cant imagine not doing my makeup in the bathroom now that I have started.

  2. Vintage Barbie February 17, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    De cluttering seems to be in the air. I bought a shelf storage unit at Sam’s, assembled it myself and now have storage shelves at the bottom of the garage stairs to keep all my bulk purchases handy and in view as I head out grocery shopping. I did my make up too. I threw out a ton of stuff. I kept the style files, my best brushes, a foundation and my new ratty recommended Dior lash serum and mascara.

Leave a Reply

