Farewell Friend

10 May

I have mentioned before on Ratty the mass exodus that occurred with my group of San Francisco friends int he past year or so. Almost 10 fingers worth of close friends have moved. This made me sad and frustrated but I realized that life goes on and that change is inevitable. If everyone stayed the same and lived in the same place and did the same thing year after year, shit would get real boring.

It dawned on me the other day that I am going to lose another friend this year. Oprah Winfrey. After 25 years, Oprah is retiring. I can no longer look forward to a new episode of Oprah to watch after work. I realized yesterday while I was laughing and then crying during her “Last Harpo Hookups” episode how much I will truly miss Oprah. Sure, I have never met her and never will and sure many people don’t like her but I don’t care. I love the gal. I think her show offers a valuable service to people and has touched the lives of so many. So yes I just lost street credit and yes I am about 12 more episodes away from another friend leaving.

One Response to “Farewell Friend”

  1. celie May 13, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

    Right there with ya sister, so bummed. I’ve been catching up on her show lately, thought of you when Iyanla from Starting Over was on 😉

Leave a Reply

