Oprah Love

27 May

I watched the final episode of Oprah this past Wednesday. I had already watched the clip below so I didn’t expect to get as emotional as I did. Her final episode was very moving and did not disappoint. Sharing her favorite moments from the show and lessons she has learned along the way, it felt very intimate and genuine. In her final goodbye to her viewers, she called the show and her viewers the “great love of her life.” I was especially moved when a picture of her as a 3 or 4 year old in Memphis, Tennessee appeared on the backdrop and she said that back then the only job she could have dreamed as a black woman would be a maid or a teacher at a segregated school. She said it was truly a miracle that everything that happened to her happened.

The real waterworks for me started once she was saying bye to everyone in the crowd, her staff and then she picked up her dog and went into her dressing room. Getting chills now even writing this. There are many Oprah haters out there (especially in my age demographic) and I’ve concluded that most of the haters have probably never bothered to watch a full episode of her show. Plus hating Oprah is the cool thing to do so it makes sense that those who aspire to be cool would do so. I think Oprah has touched and helped many people’s lives and while she could have become a crazy ass with all of her power, she is still striving to empower women and encourage people to live the best life possible. Nothing to hate about that.

I’ll miss coming home to my apartment and watching her show that I DVR daily,  but as she said so herself “Farewell for now, until I see you again.” It’s the end of that chapter but I’m sure O’s got some more giving to give.

4 Responses to “Oprah Love”

  1. joptholt May 27, 2011 at 10:29 pm #

    I wish I had started watching a long time ago!

  2. Vintage Barbie May 27, 2011 at 11:26 pm #

    Though I’ve only seen a few of her shows, I’ve kept up with Lady O via her magazines and the media. She is truly a force for good. I had to watch her farewell show (yes, I skipped Yoga practice for it). I had to see how she punctuated 25 successful years. It was so simple, it had to be true– do unto others as you would have them do unto you,, the positive energy you give out comes back to you, the energy is love, it’s endless if you trust it.

    In these days of Housewives,The Kardasian cash in, the Jersey Shore and other lower common denominators, I’m going to turn to the OWN network. I’m looking for the high road and Lady O as usual will draw the map. I think I’ll have a lot of company on that trip.

  3. ruby daggett June 2, 2011 at 3:47 am #

    All I want to know i,s when will she make full episodes available for viewing online?! I missed so many good ones during her final season….ugh. Do you have any insight, Ratty?

    • rattytime June 8, 2011 at 12:21 am #

      I’m not sure but I need to catch up as well…..hoping syndication happens very soon.

Leave a Reply

