The Good List

28 Jun

American Cheese– this blog is by a chap named David. He’s a brilliant writer and quick on the wit. American Cheese just debuted on the internet waves a couple days ago so check it out.

One Kings Lanethis website is amazing for anyone who appreciates good design and making a pretty home (or in my case an apartment). I highly recommend and think that there are many treasures and deals to be found here.

Midnight in ParisThis was good. It wasn’t great but I loved all of the beautiful shots of Paris and seeing the ghosts of literary geniuses past. I had no idea what this movie was really about until seeing it but I thoroughly enjoyed.  The fact that two of my favorite actresses were in it (Marion Cotillard and Rachel McAdam) also helped matters. Next on this list is the documentary Buck.

Ad HocI went here last Sunday and now I understand the obsession with Thomas Keller. The meal was one of the best I have had. I’m normally not a short rib fan but these were heavenly. I like the laidback vibe of this restaurant and the simplicity of the food. After dinner we walked down the Pleasantville-like streets of Yountville where we got a glimpse of French Laundry at night. Security guards were shooing the boys away within seconds after they tried peaking in. It was one of the prettiest restaurants I have seen, like something out of a fairytale book. I can’t wait for the day that I get to experience the best possible laundry experience ever.

(French Laundry from the outside…which is as far as we got)

Charleston and SavannahNot sure what inspired me (maybe this article) but I am so excited to be going here  in two months! The old mansions…the food….the trees….I want it all! Fingers crossed there will be no hurricanes.

2 Responses to “The Good List”

  1. celie June 29, 2011 at 12:49 am #

    oh fun! I’m dying to visit the south. I’ve also been debating seeing midnight in paris, now I’ll go for sheez.

  2. joptholt June 30, 2011 at 11:47 pm #

    I am going to Ad Hoc because of your rave review!

Leave a Reply

