HGTV Love

14 Jul

Not only do I now know what HGTV is but I can watch it for hours on end as well. I am hooked. Not sure if it’s something about the 26th year of life but I am actually interested in watching shows with educational value. Thanks to stumbling across an episode of “My First Place,” I learned a lot about what it could be like to buy my first home. And if it wasn’t for “Yard Crashers,” I wouldn’t have known that if a guy with a camera crew approaches you at Home Depot and asks to make over your backyard, you should always say “YES!” Granted these people are experts and have huge crews to bring their vision to life, it makes me think that there’s a lot to be said about someone who knows how to do a few things around the house or in the ol kitchen. I am also finally coming around to the Food Network.

Tonight I watched about three hours worth of “Secrets from a Stylist” with Design Star winner Emily Henderson. Sure she looks my age (she also looks like Kirsten Dunst meets Judd Apatow’s wife Leslie Mann) and has a pretty grating voice at times, but I love watching her work her style magic both on the rooms she recreates and her personal wardrobe. Watching these episodes makes the aspiring interior designer in me want to break free from the corporate world of online advertising that I currently reside in 9-5, M-F.

4 Responses to “HGTV Love”

  1. Vintage Barbie July 14, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

    I’ll check out Emily Henderson’s show, but from the examples you’ve posted, I don’t see any new tricks here. Does she work within a very tight budget? Does she have to do her redecorating in an hour or a day ?

    • rattytime July 14, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

      She has to do two looks in a couple days that match a couple’s aesthetic/style. She then does a third and final look that blends both styles and she does do a lot of her shopping at the flea markets so it’s not super crazy expensive.

  2. katherine July 18, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    Jackie – emily henderson is my good friend Natalie’s sister’s BFF! natalie and her sister are also from portland and have known emily most of their lives. so cool huh!? love HGTV too!

    • rattytime July 19, 2011 at 6:08 am #

      Omg! I will be IMing you tomorrow for more deets. I can’t stop watching the gal!

Leave a Reply

