Joan D.

18 Oct


“Didion agrees. “I guess I do know her better than anyone else. But as well as I knew her, I barely touched knowing her,” she says. “I couldn’t possibly have written a biography of her.”

What she has written instead is a kind of biography of Joan Didion, and an elusive one at that. Like her novels, it’s more a work of accumulation than of argument, at the end of which Quintana the grown-up remains the enigma Didion must want her to be, while Didion is the woman revealed. All of her fears are in it, and so is the central contradiction in all of her work, laid bare: the fear of not knowing overlaid with the terror of knowing.” – NY Magazine

 

I can’t wait to read Blue Nights out on November 1st. I missed out on getting tickets to hear her talk at City Arts and Lectures on November 5th. I regret this very much.

 

 

Leave a Reply

