A Reminder to Myself

9 Feb

I’ve lived in San Francisco for almost a decade. It’s crazy how fast it’s flown by. It’s formed me in ways that I will forever be grateful for. In August, it will be 9 years since I moved her from Southern California. I came here as a kid at 18 and I’ll be 27 in two months.  I think it’s safe to say that at 27 you’re considered an “adult” (whatever that means). I fell hard for this city but sometimes city living isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. For example. You have to deal with scary bums covered in feces or piss, crazy craigslist roommates, drug deals on the bus, douchebags on the bus, people talking loudly on their cell phones during your morning commute on the bus (OK lets just say MUNI sucks), astronomical rent prices,  fear of the “Big One,” Comcast, friends moving by the handful each year…the list goes on.

Like any relationship, you have to try to keep the passion alive so that you don’t do something crazy like bounce and later regret it.  Or just plain take it for granted. So in an effort to remind myself of why I love and live in the city of San Francisco, I did what any normal person would do. I googled quotes about San Francisco. Don’t judge. Below are my favorite three.

Leaving San Francisco is like saying goodbye to an old sweetheart.  You want to linger as long as possible. – Walter Kronkite

Cities are like gentlemen, they are born, not made.  You are either a city, or you are not, size has nothing to do with it.  I bet San Francisco was a city from the very first time it had a dozen settlers.  New York is “Yokel”, but San Francisco is “City at Heart”. – Will Rogers

Now there’s a grown-up swinging town.- Frank Sinatra

3 Responses to “A Reminder to Myself”

  1. David Opel February 9, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

    🙂

  2. A Golden Gate State of Mind February 10, 2012 at 2:20 am #

    Beautiful photos! And thanks for linking to my quotations blog post! I appreciate everything you say about the downside of living in SF – even as a visitor from the UK I have seen many of these activities. But my love shines through too – I would swap places with you anytime! Tony

  3. fare & sq February 21, 2012 at 5:06 pm #

    Love this, Jackie! Definitely having the same feelings off and on.. XX, Sally

Leave a Reply

