Vegas Baby Vegas

17 May

For my birthday, American Cheese got me a weekend getaway to Vegas! The last time I was in Vegas, I was 9 years old and fascinated by the castle we were staying at (Excalibur, $30 a night according to my mom). I had some hardship when I lost my plastic wallet at Circus Circus but other than that I remember it being a grand ol time! Fast forward to 18 years later and Vegas was totally new to me. I’ve never had much of a desire to go to Vegas as an adult. When I would think of Vegas, I thought of waiting in lines, clubbing and pool parties with models. Three things I could do without in life. Little did I know that Vegas has this glamourous side with some of the best entertainment, hotels, shopping and food. Now those are 4 things I like (A LOT). So our Vegas trip began like this. We left on Friday after work to catch a Southwest flight out of Oakland. (Note: I have a newfound respect for Southwest Airlines. Everyone got free drinks on both our to and from flights). We arrived at the Encore and checked out our room. It was super nice…

Image

Image

We headed downstairs and stumbled across the hotel’s piano bar. It would end up being the worst piano bar singers we had seen. Think glorified karaoke bar. They were so bad it was kind of funny. Here are the culprits..

Image

I tried to get them to play this song but they weren’t having it/didn’t know how to play it…

Image

So we guzzled our required 2 drink minimums real fast and got the hell out dodge…

Image

David was in heaven at the Wheel of Fortune slot machines…

Image

I fell in love with this peacock…

Image

The next morning we headed to Bobby Flay’s Mesa Grill for brunch. I will dream about their bread basket 4-ever…

Image

We walked around the strip which reminded me a lot of an adult Disneyland. Here’s Dave having a Creed “with arms wide open” moment…

Image

We checked out the Bellagio Hotel which was stunning especially their lobby ceiling…

Image

And this incredible room/conservatory/atrium…

Image

I made a friend with Sammy the gigantic swan…Image

Image

Dave won some big money!

Image

We walked around some more…

Image

I won $16 at the roulette table in the Paris Hotel and my inner gambler came out. After losing some money, I decided no more gambling for Ratty. We checked out the Venetian and had a 3pm snack at Bouchon where we had the place to ourselves. This rose is called Whispering Angel and it was so good I wrote it down…

ImageImage

Image

After drinks and food, we headed back to our hotel…

Image

We then headed to the MGM for Cirque du Soleil’s KA where we ended up sitting front row. It was quite a show! Dave called it “one of the best experiences of his life.” Holla!

Image

Afterwards we headed to dinner at Nobu where we had the Omakase menu. It was really good and we left very full. This photo doesn’t really do the meal  justice…

Sunday morning we were already experiencing post-vacation depression. We ordered some breakfast…

Image

This weekend will go down in the books as one of my best yet. I have a newfound respect for Vegas and I think the city warrants an annual trip. Now I know what Vince Vaughn and Jon Favreau were talking about…VEGAS BABY…VEGAS!

2 Responses to “Vegas Baby Vegas”

  1. Barbara Miehls May 17, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

    It’s not Excaliber, and there’s no combination swimming pool/moat/urinal, nor does it look like you got free buffets, but I guess it will have to do.

  2. joptholt May 18, 2012 at 9:16 am #

    Looks like a great time. I tell you that Dave is a keeper.

Leave a Reply

