Autumn Haps

21 Oct

I can’t believe it’s almost November 1st! I’ve been trying to cozy up and enjoy one of my favorite seasons of all. I was sipping on my Pumpkin Spice Lattes like there was no tomorrow until I realized how much sugar was in one of those babies and until I started my 21-day cleanse. I am on day 10 which is probably longer than the FiFi (short for fiancee) thought I would last. This may be the longest I have gone without alcohol since I can remember but surprisingly it hasn’t been that bad. No dairy, gluten, sugar, caffeine, meat or fish for the past 10 days. So far this is my favorite recipe I have come across. I decided to do the cleanse after my old acupuncturist sent out an email about it. It spoke to me and my desire to have more energy and not feel as tired…and well to lose some lbs.  I also wanted to prove to myself that I could do it and so far so good.

Standard-Process-Cleanse-Program

Saturday I caught up with my old high school friend Irene and we went to one of my favorite food spots in the city (best salads and sandwiches). They actually had a salad (the Fall salad) I could eat on the cleanse (minus the pine nuts) and the Detox salad. Irene and I used to chat for hours in high school. I mean we were “talkers” and it turns out nothing has changed. Check out Irene giving a TED talk below. So proud of her!

Dave and I went to the Half Moon Bay fest this past Sunday with Christine and Brett. We had a ball despite the fact that Christine and I were slurping our protein shakes and eating our veggies (she’s doing the cleanse with me) while the boys pigged out on pumpkin cheesecake and beef sandwiches. She and I both took a pumpkin bread loaf home to freeze so that it will be ready for us post-cleanse 🙂

photo 1 photo 2

The wedding is six months away and I’ve got weddings on the brain. I can’t stop watching Say Yes to the Dress Atlanta. I love that show and want to be Lori Allen’s friend in real life. Who’s with me?? Watching the show can be dangerous though especially when you have already purchased your dress. I can’t wait to be reunited with my dress in January when I go for my first fitting. Momma M. is flying to SF for it and I can’t wait for her to see me in it.

lori-allen-in-pink-jacket

Other than that, I am still obsessed with all things Downton Abbey.  Thanks to my new fave blog A Golden Afternoon, I found a way to watch the current season early with the rest of the UK instead of waiting for January to roll around. I am in love with these pictures of Lady Mary on her wedding day to Matthew….

5d3e77d1a94d7f1b9c92c68d23120fbd Wallpaper-downton-abbey-32428606-1920-1080

Stunning.

2 Responses to “Autumn Haps”

  1. Barbara Miehls October 22, 2013 at 11:09 am #

    So proud of how you are hanging in with the cleanse. You can do it. Christ, you’re doing it!! I just printed the quinoa recipe and will try it tonight. Downton Abbey is my fav. Wish they could bring Matthew back from the dead. I can’t imagine Lady Mary with anyone else.

  2. HTH October 24, 2013 at 3:49 pm #

    love your pics from the pumpkin patch! also, can’t believe that cleanse… looks so intense! looking forward to hearing your feedback once it’s over!

Leave a Reply

