Surprise!

8 Feb

I’m pretty sure that I’ve written a post about my love for surprises (the good kind that is….presents and whatnot). My mom started bringing home surprises from her business trips or work days when I was a young rat. As I got older, the surprises were fewer but I must say that in the past few weeks, I have gotten lots of great surprises and I thought I would share (brag) a few with you. My camera ran out of battery as I was trying to transfer the photos I took of said surprises so Google Images will have to suffice.

Lisa T. got me my very own Hello Kitty pez dispenser during her NYC trip

and the Strawberry & Champagne chocolate candy bar from Dylan’s.  One of the best chocolate bars of my life. Willy Wonka would’ve been proud.

I got a surprise orchid and that little stuffed rat in the background was a surprise I got in the mail a while ago from Ms. Heather Henderson

I got this Awemazing Hello Kitty book as a belated Christmas present from my roomie. I can’t even begin to describe how awesome this book is. I might even do a VLOG about it in the near future. There’s all these cool little pull-outs in it such as an iron on Hello Kitty decal, a strip of Hello Kitty stickers, a menu from the Hello Kitty airplane. It is still blowing my mind. I love it. P.S. Did you know Hello Kitty had a boyfriend named Dear Daniel? Here he is in a play with her….now that’s theater if you ask me!

Kitty and Dear Daniel were definitely robbed at the Tony awards this year.

My mom (aka that spunky Vintage Barbie who leaves many comments on Year of the Ratty) got me one of her best suprises yet.  This surprise package from Sephora was so unexpected and definitely made my Monday at work so much brighter. This Smashbox’s Style Files make-up kit is so cool. There are three files: Eyes, lips and cheeks plus tutorials on how to wear the make-up in different looks….from the office to a night out on the San Francisco town! Vintage Barbie knocked it out of the park ❤

And this really cool set from Nars called Midsummer Dream Set. I LOVE Nars blushes so I was really excited about this one. However, I am still learning how to apply it. My dear friend James informed me I had glitter all over my face….”WTF you have glitter all over your face. What are we in high school J?!” So yeah I am trying to learn how to control the shimmer but I really love the blushes that came in this set and I really enjoy the blush cream stick. I also got an additional surprise Nars blush called “Sex Appeal” Ooo lala! Ratty needs all the help she can get.

In closing, I am not saying that surprises have to be physical gifts. Perhaps they could be a warm hug or a kind word or two but Hello Kitty and flowers and make-up and chocolate….as Tony Soprano says “Forget about it!” I am one lucky gal.

Surprises are foolish things. The pleasure is not

enhanced, and the inconvenience is often considerable.

-Jane Austen


DEAR JANE AUSTEN,

YOU ARE

SOOOO WRONG.

LOVE,

JACKIE

3 Responses to “Surprise!”

  1. Rita February 8, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    I too am obsessed with Nars blushes… I’m totally buying that Midsummer Dream Set!!

  2. Alison February 8, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

    i feel as if there is a surprise missing…

  3. Jenny February 8, 2011 at 6:35 pm #

    What about the moonpie?

Leave a comment